Watch out for
- TOPIK/English-proficiency requirements are set per university and department, not nationally — always confirm directly with the specific institution.
- Tuition figures quoted here are national averages; individual universities can charge more or less, so verify on the specific university's own site before budgeting.
- Work-during-study rules and any post-study work visa route (e.g. D-10 job-seeking) could not be confirmed from an official page in this research pass and are left null — verify with the Korea Immigration Service (hikorea.go.kr) directly.
The basics
- Bachelor's
- 4 years (6 years for medicine, oriental medicine, dentistry, veterinary science and pharmacy)
- Master's / PhD
- Master's: 2 years or more; Doctoral: 2 years or more; integrated Master's-Doctoral: 4 years or more
- Intakes
- Main intake — main
- Exams — bachelor's
- TOPIK score report (PBT or IBT) commonly required for Korean-taught programmes; some universities accept Korea Immigration & Integration Program or King Sejong Institute completion certificates instead · English proficiency test for English-taught programmes, set per university
- Exams — master's
- Same TOPIK/English-proficiency pattern as UG, set per university/department
Your timeline from India
for the main intake- Step 1Research schools/majors and scholarship options via studyinkorea.go.kr
- Step 2Check admission requirements per university/department, including TOPIK (Korean) or English-proficiency requirements — these are set per institution, not nationally
- Step 3Submit application documents via the university's own online application
- Step 4Receive the Standard Admission Letter from the university
- Step 5Apply for the D-2 student visa and prepare for departure
What it costs
rupees at ECB rates of 2026-09-25- Tuition — bachelor's
- KRW 9,843,400 / year · about 7 lakh (National/public average KRW 4,265,842/year; overall national average KRW 6,820,244; private average KRW 7,625,336; medicine department average KRW 9,843,400 — source: studyinkorea.go.kr Study Expenses page)
The student visa
- Visa
- D-2 student visa (degree programmes); D-4 for non-degree training/language courses ↗
- Fee
- USD 60 · about ₹5,747
Approximate consular visa fees per studyinkorea.go.kr: ~USD 40 (single-entry, stay ≤90 days), ~USD 60 (single-entry, >90 days — the relevant category for most students), ~USD 70 (double-entry), ~USD 90 (multiple-entry) - Money to show
- Proof of financial ability (amount not specified on the page opened)
- Processing
- Not stated on the official page opened
Steps
- Receive the Standard Admission Letter from the Korean institution
- Apply for the D-2 visa with passport, photo, admission letter, institution registration certificate, proof of education level, and proof of financial ability
- Travel to Korea and register residence as required
Where to apply, funding, official help
Application platforms
- Study in Korea — Official Korean government portal for prospective international students
Scholarships
- Global Korea Scholarship (GKS) — Undergraduate (non-Korean citizenship for applicant and both parents, under 25, 80% cumulative score or top 20% of class) and graduate (under 40, bachelor's/master's held, minimum 80% GPA); covers airfare, Korean-language training, tuition and a monthly allowance; about 280 undergraduate and 1,600 graduate places globally. India's specific eligibility was not confirmed on the page opened — contact NIIED (gksniied@korea.kr) or the Korean Embassy in India to confirm the current year's country allocation.
Top universities in South Korea
by ARWU 2025 world rankThis guide was built from: studyinkorea.go.kr/en/main.do · studyinkorea.go.kr/en/plan/abroadExpenses.do · studyinkorea.go.kr/en/plan/visaAndStay.do · studyinkorea.go.kr/en/plan/educationSystem.do · studyinkorea.go.kr/en/plan/scholarship.do · studyinkorea.go.kr/en/plan/examAndKoreanStudy.do — checked 2026-09-28.