L
LLLOS.ai
LLOS.ai
L
United Kingdom · Public university

University of Aberdeen

Aberdeen, United Kingdom

At a glance

Address
University of Aberdeen, King's College, Aberdeen, AB24 3FX, United Kingdom
City
Aberdeen
Country
United Kingdom — process, visa & costs
Website
abdn.ac.uk
Type
Public
Founded
1495
Map
Open the campus on a map ↗

Where it ranks

201–300 in the world — ShanghaiRanking ARWU 2025.

Strongest subjects (GRAS 2025)

Ecology 76–100
Mechanical Engineering 76–100
Agricultural Sciences 76–100
Earth Sciences 101–150
Oceanography 101–150
Water Resources 101–150

How to get in

read on the university's own pages, 28 September 2026

Bachelor's (after Class 12)

Apply via
UCAS — application page ↗
Cycle
2027 entry (explicitly stated on Aberdeen's own apply page)
Intake
September
Tests
No admissions test named on Aberdeen's own apply page; interviews possible for Education, Medicine or Music applicants
English
IELTS 6.0 overall, minimum 5.5 in Listening/Reading/Speaking, 6.0 Writing · TOEFL 78 (iBT, pre-Jan-2026 scale)
Medicine (MBChB) requires IELTS 7.0 overall (Speaking 7.0)
Tuition
GBP 20,800 / year (2026-27) · about ₹26.4 lakh
Financial aid
Aberdeen Global Scholarship (Undergraduate): GBP 6,000/year tuition waiver for new self-funded international on-campus UG students (confirmed for 25/26 and 26/27 entry; 27/28 not yet confirmed at time of check)

Deadlines

RoundApply byDecision
Medicine and Dentistry15 October 2026
All other programmes (equal consideration)14 January 2027

For Indian applicants: Standard XII: Arts 75% overall + 80% English; Science 75% overall (75%+ in two sciences or Maths+science) + 80% English; Biomedical Sciences 80% overall; Engineering 75% overall incl. 75%+ Maths & Physics; Law 80% overall; all streams need 80% in English at Std XII (or standard English-language requirement)

What you send

  • UCAS personal statement

Master's / PhD (after graduation)

Apply via
direct — application page ↗
Intake
September, January
Deadlines
Not stated as a single date on the pages checked; check individual programme pages
Tests
Not stated on the pages checked
English
IELTS 6.0 overall, minimum 5.5 in Listening/Reading/Speaking, 6.0 Writing · TOEFL 78 (iBT, pre-Jan-2026 scale)
Some programmes may require higher scores
Funding
Aberdeen Global Scholarship (Postgraduate Masters): GBP 8,000 tuition fee waiver for new self-funded international on-campus Masters students starting Sept 2025 or Jan 2026 (27/28 not yet confirmed); Education Future International Scholarship also referenced

Scholarships

Studying in United Kingdom

The UK offers short, focused degrees (3-year bachelor's, 1-year master's) and a single centralised undergraduate application system (UCAS). Indian students go for shorter, cheaper-in-time degrees, globally ranked universities, and the post-study Graduate Route, though visa and healthcare-surcharge costs have risen and postgraduate dependant visas are now restricted.

Visa
Student visa (Student Route, formerly Tier 4) — GBP 558 · about ₹70,812
After graduating
Graduate Route: 2 years of post-study work permission for bachelor's/master's graduates who apply on or before 31 December 2026, dropping to 18 months for applications made on or after 1 January 2027; PhD/doctoral graduates get 3 years (gov.uk).

Full United Kingdom guide — timeline, costs, visa steps →

Every subject ranking

ShanghaiRanking GRAS 2025
SubjectRankSource
Ecology 76–100 GRAS 2025
Mechanical Engineering 76–100 GRAS 2025
Agricultural Sciences 76–100 GRAS 2025
Earth Sciences 101–150 GRAS 2025
Oceanography 101–150 GRAS 2025
Water Resources 101–150 GRAS 2025
Environmental Science & Engineering 151–200 GRAS 2025
Human Biological Sciences 151–200 GRAS 2025
Business Administration 151–200 GRAS 2025
Biological Sciences 201–300 GRAS 2025
Clinical Medicine 201–300 GRAS 2025
Public Health 201–300 GRAS 2025
Pharmacy & Pharmaceutical Sciences 201–300 GRAS 2025
Education 201–300 GRAS 2025
Civil Engineering 301–400 GRAS 2025
Economics 401–500 GRAS 2025
Psychology 401–500 GRAS 2025
Management 401–500 GRAS 2025

Prepare here, free

Admission facts on this page were read from: abdn.ac.uk/ · abdn.ac.uk/study/international/country-territory/india/entry/ · abdn.ac.uk/study/international/country-territory/india/funding/ · abdn.ac.uk/study/undergraduate/apply/ · abdn.ac.uk/study/international/english/undergraduate-english-requirements/ · abdn.ac.uk/students/finance/tuition-fees/tuition-fee-rates/ · abdn.ac.uk/media/site/students/documents/UG--Full-time-Tuition-Fees-2026-27.pdf · abdn.ac.uk/study/international/finance/ — checked 28 September 2026.

Where this comes from

Ranks are copied, with their year, from ShanghaiRanking's ShanghaiRanking ARWU 2025 and its Global Ranking of Academic Subjects 2025 — LLOS does not rank universities. Addresses, websites and locations come from Wikidata; US numbers from the US College Scorecard. Admission details and country rules were read from each university's and government's own pages — every profile lists its sources and the date they were checked.

Rupee figures use European Central Bank reference rates of 2026-09-25 and are a guide, not a quote. Deadlines, fees and visa rules change every year: always confirm on the official page before you apply or pay. LLOS takes no commission from any university, agent or lender.